School Logo

Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in Nursery and Reception


Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.


How your child will be learning


In Nursery and Reception Class your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.


Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:


  • Communication and Language (C&L);

  • Physical Development (PD); and

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED).


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:


  • Literacy (L);

  • Mathematics (M);

  • Understanding the World (UW); and

  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD). These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Teaching staff and professionals supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs and interests. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. At the end of the EYFS – in the summer term of the Reception year in school – teachers complete an assessment which is known as the EYFS Profile. This assessment is based on observations and assessments of your child by all staff working with them throughout the year.

Click on the two links below to visit our Early Year’s pages

EYFS Curriculum Map